Cherokee Forum got Hacked... I'm PO'd!

ExpoMike

So I load up my browser this morning with all the different forums I am on. Next thing I know my antivirus and anti-malware alerts start going off big time. It's blocking and deleting files. Start doing some checking on what site got hacked and it looks like it's Cherokee Forum.com. I am so f'n pissed right now. 8 hours of work and I still haven't gotten it removed completely.

It managed to get by, by dropping in as a RootKit and then placing Trojans. RootKits are a major PITA to remove, if you can at all.

Sad part is, I take care of our department's Antivirus/Malware products so I am not a newbie to safe web useage or virus protection. Heck, I actually saved Volksrodders.com, when I found it had been hacked a couple years back and alerted to site Admin. I sent a message to CF but haven't heard anything.

Just a warning to all, don't visit Cherokee Forum.com unless you like to rebuild your box.

Just in case someone pipes in and say something like "don't use IE, blah, blah, blah" I wasn't using IE front end GUI and the browser I use has better protection then IE. I had a user last week get hit from an infected web site (that was hacked) and it came through specifically via Firefox. No browser is immune.

Just wanted to vent!!!!

Schattenjager

Expedition Leader
I just hugged my Mac.

Sorry to hear the news - some people just suck - and then they think it's a good idea to have kids to insure we have lots of problems down the road.

winkosmosis

Explorer
Macs are the least secure computers, so I wouldn't hug it just yet..

Never heard of cherokeeforum but I read NAXJA and Jeepforum

winkosmosis

Explorer
http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/article/pwn2own_winner_mac_os_x_is_less_secure_than_windows/