2000 Chevy Silverado Z71 build

cssimeur

I have a 2000 chevy silverado 1500 Z71. The original and only other owner was my brother, so the truck was maintained and is in good shape. I've been wanting to build it out for overlanding, nothing too crazy. I'm new to this whole thing from a practical standpoint, though I've been lurking about and dreaming about doing a mostly DIY build like this for a long time.

Here's what I've got on it:

Locking rear diff
skid plates
aluminum stock wheels
265/70R/16 AT tires

So far I've:

Put a Leer 122 topper on it. We actually got the topper after we took it out on the maiden voyage. Our topper wasn't ready so we used a loaner from the dealer (an aluminum topper w/o windows :::no bueno:::) for that trip.
Built a platform and drawer system in the bed, photos below. It has quite a bit of storage. Two drawers on 60" heavy duty full extension slides. Access panels in front of and behind the wheel wells for smaller items. Heavy duty screw gate carabiners to retain tie downs in the bed.

What I'd like to do:

-Upgrade the suspension. Originally I was thinking Deaver leaf springs in the back. Maybe U182 or M27? I'd love to run a slightly larger tire and level the truck as well as maybe get a 1.5" overall lift (2" max). I'm having trouble figuring out what to do for the IFS torsion bar front end. I've had people tell me to just get forged torsion keys, front shock extensions, and beefed up shocks and I'll be good, but this is coming from people who don't actually overland and just like the look of lifted trucks. Personally I don't want to get much lift if I can help it except to fit a slightly larger tire (32 or 33" max). I don't plan on doing any crazy rock crawling, I'd just like to upgrade twenty year old suspension and gain some added capability and peace of mind for decent overlanding. Any ideas are welcome. Other than getting a new rig! LOL

-Solar, internal led lights, and exhaust fan for the topper.