2004 E-150 Conversion to 4WD

Hi.

I'm from oklahoma, amd I've got some questions regarding experience in converting the E-150's to 4WD. I've recently purchased a nicely kept 2004 E-150 8 passenger van. 5.4L, 4R75 transmission, Factory limited slip, 3.55, less than 87K, the super duty style mirrors, Factory towing package, etc.

I haul a boat in the summers. This van is my wife's DD, and will be the family hauler for camping trips. Ultimately, I thought I wanted a 100 series LC for our camping adventures, but 2 kids in car seats (with plans for a couple more) means a van makes more sense. My wife and I both grew up with ford vans, and I have feeling that going to a LC is going to be much harder than I realize after van camping for a few years with little ones.

After doing research on Expedition portal, it seems like everyone seems to use a E350 for a base to do a 4x4 conversion. I just don't need a 1 ton van right now. We aren't going to be building it into a camper van to sleep in, only a gear/kid hauler. I think our E-150 will be great for our family's needs for the next few years.

I guess My main question is, is it worth it in your experience to convert a E150 to 4WD. I'd only looking at a mild lift - 3-4" I've been looking at the Weld Tech 2WD lifts, and may add a locker to the rear at some point. but I want something that will let us do trails in Colorado, UT, The Ozarks in arkansas. Like it says in my sig, we have a basically stock '03 DC Tacoma. I know that a van isn't going to do the tight technical trails like the tacoma can - but it will get our family and camping gear to some pretty fun spots, and be more comfortable getting there for a family. 4WD means I can be easier on the van and the people inside since I wouldn't be as dependent on momentum, and low range will help in the mountains and hills going up and down.

Last edited:

poriggity

Explorer