50W Solar Panel

FosterWV

Baller On A Budget
Tried searching couldn't find anything on 50W panels.....

I have a small trailer w a RTT, no fridge/no plans for a fridge, just basic led lights and a fan that runs all night. The battery lasts pretty good 2-3 days but to feel more comfortable and maintain the battery I thought a small 50W panel would be all I needed? Plus I'm limited on space so it fits better too. Thoughts?

DiploStrat

Expedition Leader
You may find a 50w panel disappointing as it is so small. Bit like trying to weld by holding a match to steel - the concept is right but you need a bit more.

100w generally produces about 5A in full sun.

john61ct

Adventurer
You should actually measure the average AH per 24-hours draw of your consumers.

Figure maybe 5AH per day from a single 50W panel, varies by latitude, weather, tilting or flat etc.

That fan likely uses more.

FosterWV

Baller On A Budget
Thanks for the quick replies, figuring draw and amps etc I'm still learning.

I might try and find a way to store a 100W panel inside somewhere.

john61ct

Adventurer
Start with mounting whatever you can fit.

They make folding portable panels if you need more, just not as convenient.

DLTooley

Observer
I started with a 50 watt, mostly just ran my CPAP. Check the numbers on your fan, but I think you'll be okay. I've since upgraded to a 100 watt and the 50 gets set out as a semi-portable when needed. The fridge is nice.

At some point you'll want to get some sort of way to measure actual amps, charging and load. An ammeter will do it, but the Victron MPPT charger has it built in so it is reading, and logging, all the time.

broncobowsher

Adventurer