83 Landcruiser - questions

escadventure

Adventurer
I found a 83 Landcruiser for sale I'm considering to buy. I'm no expert on LC's.

The owner is calling it a BJ45. Searches I've done in the internet tell me it looks like what is usually called a HJ45 wagon or FJ45. It has the extended and enclosed cabin. With the pop up roof. Deisel, I think 3B engine. Almost 100% restored to new condition. "almost" meaning the engine bay/engine is a bit less than like new clean.
I could probably pick it up for 25k euro. That seems a bit high but as I said, I'm no expert on the old LC's.

Any words info or words of advice?

thanks

Expedition Leader
I found a 83 Landcruiser for sale I'm considering to buy. I'm no expert on LC's.

The owner is calling it a BJ45. Searches I've done in the internet tell me it looks like what is usually called a HJ45 wagon or FJ45. It has the extended and enclosed cabin. With the pop up roof. Deisel, I think 3B engine. Almost 100% restored to new condition. "almost" meaning the engine bay/engine is a bit less than like new clean.
I could probably pick it up for 25k euro. That seems a bit high but as I said, I'm no expert on the old LC's.

Any words info or words of advice?

thanks

If it has a B engine, it is a BJ45. It would have to have the 6-cylinder H engine to be an HJ45, and it would have to have the 6-cylinder 2F petrol engine to be an FJ45.

Read this article several times over before you go inspect it: http://forum.ih8mud.com/40-55-series-tech/132481-buying-land-cruiser.html It is geared more towards U.S.-spec FJ40's, but will still give you a lot of things to look for and consider on any 40-series.

Good luck; 25K Euros is a lot of money for even a nice BJ45 in my book but I don't know what the market is like in Germany.

Ghostdog

Observer