93 E250 Sportsmobile build/4x4

Mwood95

Hey folks

I think I'll do a thread on this rig.
It's a 1993 Extended E250 Sportsmobile with 94k original miles and the 5.8 windsor.
I got a great deal on it because the previous owner couldnt get it to smog.

I'm an artist and art teacher. I've been messing with cars my whole life. I lived between my art studio and my astro van for about a year and decided to upgrade to something bigger.

image4.jpeg
image5.jpeg
image0.jpeg
image1.jpeg

It's definitely been neglected and will be a longterm project.
I'd like to eventually redo the interior but plans for now are to get it running well, deal with some rust in the gutters and 4x4 swap it with a kit from timberline vans that I am preparing to order.
The van will also be getting a FF Dana 60 for the rear with 4.10 gears. If it still wont get out of its own way I'll swap it to 4.56s once the 4x4 is done.

Here are a couple photos of my old astro that has just sold.
image5.jpeg
19.jpg
image4.png
22.jpg
23.jpg
image0.png

I really went crazy on the astro with Journey's offroad parts and a whole new front end, insulation, solar, inverter etc. The new owner is planning to use it for what it's actually good at which is short trips.

I haven't had a chance to really diagnose the Ford yet. Could be a vacuum leak, could be a sensor issue. OBDI is definitely a pain in the ass that I am getting used to.
More soon.

Mitch

Pntyrmvr

Adventurer
I put an obd1 motor into a 1984.

A buddy had a SnapOn tester that could read the codes off the computer. I remember pricing it out on ebay. Seemed cheap enough to consider buying one if I couldn't borrow it.

Mwood95

I put an obd1 motor into a 1984.

A buddy had a SnapOn tester that could read the codes off the computer. I remember pricing it out on ebay. Seemed cheap enough to consider buying one if I couldn't borrow it.
I have a cheap innova code reader, they are available at autozone/oreilly.