95 Montero LS w/ manual trans - Purchasing Advice

shermanhelmsley

Hey everyone, I've been digging through this site and 4x4wire for a few months now, and have finally decided to try to pick myself up an 2nd Gen Montero...possibly as soon as this weekend. Before doing so I could use some advice from the guru's.

Here's the rundown:

I've found a 95 LS - manual trans. with 177k on the clock for $1500. The owner (3rd) has nearly all receipts since its purchase...timing belt was done at 120k and at 172k along with the water pump and pulley. There's one minor leak I believe where the drive shaft meets with the transfer case, but no others at all. The underside has no rust at all, and there is one small surface patch above the rear door (it's a Cali car)...nearly impossible to find on the east coast. The 4wd shifts with no problems, the cloth interior is in great shape, no corrosion on the fuel or brake lines, and the suspension is in order. It's had the ball joints, tie rods and CV boots recently replaced, along with the rear brakes, and the header/cat/exhaust from head to toe is solid. The exterior does show its age with the normal dings and scratches, but thats to be expected.

The truck hails originally from California and has lived in the Northeast for the past 2 years. I had a mechanic look it over and give it a full inspection and test drive, and the only problem found is that it needs a new clutch, which the owner claims to not have been aware of. Its beginning to slip in 3rd and 4th gear. Lastly, it'll need a new set of tires and is missing the jump seats.

My mechanic will do the clutch job for $800, and fix the oil leak. I also found a pair of leather jump seats for $100.

I'd like to know if this sounds at all like a solid find, worthy of putting $800 + into from the door? The fact that its rust free and has had the required maintenance done very recently are both strong buying factors.