99 Grand Cherokee Adventure Rig

Hey guys!
I have a 99 Grand Cherokee 4.0L that I am planning on turning into a family adventure rig. I am just getting started on this so I am looking for some help. I am thinking about going with either the IRO 4" Critical Path Long Arm Lift Kit or the 4" BDS kit. Anyone have any opinions or suggestions about these lifts? I like the BDS no fine print warranty but I like the long arm lift. I am wanting to have a smooth on road ride but be able to venture off the beaten path to reach various destinations. I have read a lot of good things about IRO and what I have read out BDS seems to be good as well. Also how will these kits handle aftermarket front and rear bumper weights?

brianwj

Observer
I have IRO long arms and BDS 4" springs on mine and it rides great loaded down with camping gear. The unloaded on road ride is a little stiff but nothing I would complain about or trade for the extra load capacity of BDS.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

So a hybrid lift between the IRO long arms using BDS springs would give be better load capacity? I plan on putting a HD front bumper and winch on the front and a rear bumper with tire carrier on the back and was a little worried about springs handling the weight. How would you compare the unloaded ride to factory? A little stiffer or alot stiffer?

brianwj

Observer
Completely unloaded I'd say it's a lot stiffer than stock but I'm never without my fullsize spare, some recovery gear and I have a hidden winch mount in the front with synthetic line.

Yea I'm planning to add a Trail Ready full guard front bumper with winch in the front and a Rock Hard 4X4 rear bumper and tire carrier on the back. Also plan on some sliders as well.

brianwj

Observer