Advice Wanted! Dual Battery/Solar Set Up

kins18q

Adventurer
Hey guys. My girlfriend and I are preparing a 2002 Suburban 4x4 Z71 for a year on the road to launch her adventure photography business full time.

Here she is on Instagram @katcarney

I am hoping to get some feedback on my proposed system, because I have no real experience with this...just reading thread after thread.

Power needs:

We would love to be able to power these things for 3-5 days without driving...
30L Indel B Fridge
Camera batteries
Laptop
2 Cell phones
6 tiny LED lights

Proposed System Based on EVLDAVE's kickass design
100w Flexible Solar panel mounted to top of rooftop box that can be tilted towards sun
30 Amp PWM Charge Controller
100 Amphour AGM battery
200 amp solenoid between the starting battery and the deep cycle battery to get charge from the alternator when driving and so I can jumpstart the starter with the deep cycle (if need be)
400w inverter???
Or Pure Sine inverter???

Questions:

Am I missing anything?
Do I need the pure Sine inverter?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Joe917

Explorer
The big draw is the fridge at 50 Watts, approx 4 amps @ 12 v so approx 50 amp hrs in 24 hrs @ 50% duty cycle.Throw in minimal laptop use and charging lets say consumption is 60 amp/hrs/day.
Charging from 100 Watts X 4 hrs(a fair expectation)= 400watts= 33 amp hrs.
with no driving you have 60amp/hrs out and 33 amp/hrs in.
Double your solar minimum and if possible go to 200 amp hrs battery.

A battery monitor is a vital part of the system, without it you are guessing at battery charge(voltage is of no use in a working system). I recommend Trimetric but there are others.
http://www.bogartengineering.com/products/trimetrics/

As for charge controller :http://www.amazon.com/Morningstar-S...ywords=morning+star+sun+controller+ss-20l-12v

I have also heard good things about Bogart's combined solar charger and monitor:
http://www.bogartengineering.com/products/solar-charger/