Any input on these batteries ?

TwinStick

Explorer
http://www.cabelas.com/product/boat...tteries/_/N-1100564/Ns-CATEGORY_SEQ_104446080

Specifically, the Gp 31 size. Who makes them ? Odyssey maybe ? I ask this because we have a Cabela's store within driving distance. They will be powering an ARB 82qt & a 50qt fridge/freezers. I will wait until they are on sale. I have this charger already http://www.cabelas.com/product/boat...verters/_/N-1100565/Ns-CATEGORY_SEQ_104465880 It is the 20 amp x 2 model. I can charge batteries with it while driving or from shore power or my Honda Gen when stopped. Thanks.

zelatore

Explorer
I've always wondered what a 'marine' battery is. Being that I work in the marine industry I use deep cycle batteries (flooded or AGM) for house loads, starting batteries for starting loads, and dual purpose batteries for small boats that don't have dedicated services.

So....which one is the 'marine' battery?
(yeah, that term bothers me a bit)

Even more fun is when my clients want to buy their own batteries. They usually assume any battery they put on a boat has to be a deep cycle and can't seem to grasp the idea of what a deep cycle battery is actually for.

As to the battery shown, the raised plastic square sections of the case around the posts resembles an Odyssey. Northstar has a flat top to their case. I'm not a huge fan of the Odyssey group 31 but have been running a Northstar in my Rover for a while now with no complaints on it's performance, though I did find the terminal spacing was a bit different than a standard gp31.

zelatore

Explorer
Oh, and I'm guessing the charger they sell is a rebranded ProMariner from a cursory glance. I never quite trust the 'store brand' items like this, but if it's really just a name brand product with the store logo slapped on it and sold at a discount it should be OK. I'd still feel more comfortable with the 'real' product though.

4x4junkie

Explorer