Aussie unimog

nugget

Observer
I am new to large expedition vehicles but am contemplating the next stage after my Hummer H3 2 person tourer and as such have been watching the forum and also been on the lookout for interesting ideas. I saw this unimog on the beach at Double Island Point, which is just north of Noosa, Queensland on the weekend. The lift up sides are perfect for our hot and humid weather with the lifted side creating an awning. The guy built it himself after restoring an older unimog and stretching the chassis.

unimogdi1post.jpg

unimogdi2post.jpg

Last edited:

nugget

Observer
I thought it was really interesting way of doing it. The guy who owns it is not a hard core expedition guy...for him it is more a mobile home.

He was saying that it is not very good in sand due to the weight and long wheel base...he can never get up enough momentum between gear changes so he would not take it to the desert etc. I am not sure of his level of offroad expertise but I suspect he might have been inexperienced as the tyres didn't look as if they had been let down.

He had done an excellent job of the fitout and had it all Road Transport approved as well.

RMP&O

Expedition Leader
I really ike that set up on the camper. That is awesome and well executed. I like it much more than a conventual style. I would say he could build something like that and market it, not just for Mogs. But by the looks of his truck I doubt he needs work or money!

RMP&O

Expedition Leader