Back up/reverse light switching

yj4roks

Observer
I did a quick search (while at work) and didn't see anything. (did see a thread about what types of doobage people liked!) I have installed some LED lights on my custom camper (Callen/Baja style). I currently have them wired into the reverse light on my Dodge but I would like to add a switch inside the shell so I can use the lights while at camp. Any help or links to locations here or other sites would be great!
Not sure if adding a switch to the lights will do any sort of damage to the stock wiring? Or if nothing else, to keep the Dodge reverse lights from coming on when I flip the switch.
I'm not a great electrician here...

anickode

Adventurer
Feed an additional 12v line from the battery to the led lights with a switch, and install a diode between the reverse lights and the led lights. The LEDs will still function as additional reverse lights, but the factory battery sucking incandescent reverse lights will not come on with the switch. You can get a 4 pack of 6 amp 50v diodes at radio shack for 5 or 6 bucks.

rayra

Expedition Leader
Seconding the diode. Acts as a one-way gate to keep the other power source from backfeeding the stock backup lights.

brian90744

American Trekker
You could have one LED for back-up and wire the other LED with a switch as a cargo light. I don't think you need 2 LED back-up lights. Just FYI=brian

anickode

Adventurer
You could have one LED for back-up and wire the other LED with a switch as a cargo light. I don't think you need 2 LED back-up lights. Just FYI=brian