CB500X vs V-Strom 650XT vs KLR650 vs Tenere 700

Maddmatt

Explorer
So it's been a couple months, any decisions?

Lots of good advice so far, but I'll share my experience anyway. I started riding late in life (45) and the first thing I did was buy a helmet, the second was to take the MSR course. The course I did was very valuable, and included the test, both riding and written, for the license endorsement, so I just had to go over to the DMV and get my license updated, which was nice.

Then I bought the best bike I could afford (I set myself a budget of $2500) and ended up with the Ninja 500. Not my dream bike, but it was in perfect shape. And I rode that thing constantly. Lots of mountain passes, some dirt roads (not fun!), but basically just spent that first summer putting as many miles on it as I could. And the next summer. And the summer after that.

I'm 6' tall, with decades of mountain and road bike experience, but even still that little Ninja was intimidating at first. Plus riding in that position, at my age, killed my back, and when coming down passes and canyons that sportbike/fuel tank position was not kind to other parts of my body.

So for my second bike I went full adventure, with the Triumph Tiger 800. With several thousand miles under my belt, I found that now the bigger bike, with its greatly increased horsepower, upright seating and height (I can just get both toes down at a level stoplight) is actually much easier to ride than that little Ninja. Also the bigger wheels and tires - expansion joints, grooved pavement, cracks in the pavement - all these things would just redirect that little Ninja, I don't even notice them most of the time on the Tiger.

And dirt roads are just fun now. I've even done a couple sections of the Colorado BDR, fully loaded down with camping gear, and there were a couple sections that I was convinced were going to be the end of me, and the next thing I knew I was at the top.