Clunking on acceleration

westyss

Explorer
I have just entered Mexico and am south of San Filipe and have just started hearing a clunking sound when accelerating in second gear, maybe three or four clunks, then maybe one or two in third gear but once moving along it goes away.
It seemed to be more when leaning to the left but that may be uncertain.
No sounds before that all the way from BC Canada! Wondering if anyone else has had something similar or can make a suggestion as to what it might be or where and how to look?

I have jacked up the rear axle and rotated the drive shaft and also heaved on the driveshaft to see if anything is loose, particularly the ujoints and shocks. I do have a bit of slop when turning the driveshaft to turn the wheels forward then backwards but it seemed to have the same amount since new, about 1/2” of play.
Truck is a 2007 Fuso FG

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
I'm no mechanic, but I have read, on more than a few occasions, that there is a nut on the mainshaft of the transfer case that can come undone.
That may be a red herring, but it's possibly something to consider.

westyss

Explorer
Ok thanks Owen, I’ll look into that, I’m guessing it would be ahead of the parking brake drum ?

westyss

Explorer
Sitting here thinking about it I did stall the engine in second gear going up a sand hill this morning, thinking that might have something to do with it.?

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
As I am sure you know, these boxes are not known for being all that robust.
A simple sanity check might be to drop your gearbox oil and confirm that there are no metal bits in there.
If you use a nice clean container, you just put the same oil back in if no contaminates are found (hopefully).

westyss

Explorer
As I am sure you know, these boxes are not known for being all that robust.
A simple sanity check might be to drop your gearbox oil and confirm that there are no metal bits in there.