Comet SBB-244NMO offroad?

trump

Adventurist
Hopefully a few of you can chime in with some experience here. I'm looking at running said named antenna soon; however, I'm unsure of its offroad durability. Anyone running one, before I pull the trigger?

Tennmogger

Explorer
Why use a Chinese made antenna (like Diamond and Comet) when you can get a tough USA made brand like Larsen? I have been abusing Larsen antennas for quite a few years, and have seen some imported antennas destroyed on the first encounter with trails.

my 2c,

Bob
WB4ETT

Hopefully a few of you can chime in with some experience here. I'm looking at running said named antenna soon; however, I'm unsure of its offroad durability. Anyone running one, before I pull the trigger?

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
FWIW, the Comet C-767 NMO I have says it was made in Japan, but it's older.

That said I switched to a Larsen 2/70 NMO years ago because the aforementioned Comet fold-over feature decides to do it randomly. This just would not do. I don't see any difference in real world performance between the Comet and Larsen.

rusty_tlc

Explorer
I had the Comet SBB-7NMO, similar to the one referenced but 2M/70cm, took it out driving into the garage, but it worked fine on the trail.
I have a Larsen now.

trump

Adventurist
Alright then, how about suggestions for a 2m/220/440 antenna that is offroad tough?

Also, Comet fixed their fold over issue with new their new designs.

DaveInDenver

Failed to grasp that you wanted 220MHz, too. I don't have a 1.25m radio. I'm not aware of a 144/220/440 antenna other than the Comet.

rusty_tlc

Explorer
Since the guys I run with all use 2M simplex on the trail I have a 2M rubber duck I put on when off road. It works great for simplex on tight trails where you stay bunched up. Even in the mountains I can get 5 - 10 mile range out of it.