Communications Antennas mounted on front bumper

jwhutch

Observer
Hey Everyone,

Total newb here. I am wondering why I see people mounting antennas to the front of the vehicle. Is this a preferred location for overland travel? This is a serious question. I have been a ham for a long time and have never noticed anyone mounting an antenna up front until I spent a couple of weeks in Africa this summer. Just curious.

On a second note, I am wondering why people mount a cable from the front bumper to the roof rack. I would guess this is to deflect branches. Again curious. Thanks in advance.

mountainpete

Spamicus Eliminatus
First, don't think I have had a chance to say Welcome to ExPo :)

I'll start with the easy one first. The cables you see running from bumper bars to roof racks are called limb risers. They are often used in heavily treed areas to deflect large branches up and over the vehicle. Very useful in the forest or jungle, probably a little more farkle (functional sparkle) in the desert. Search "limb risers" and you will find a few excellent discussions on how to install them and a recent one on spring loading.

For antennas mounted on bull bars, they are very common in Australia and Africa but less common in North America. Here is some very light details - others will chime in with more :)

One of the main reasons you see them so often in Australia is the type of antenna that is commonly used. CB radio usage is very different there compared to North America. Included are thick, heavy, special purpose antennas which are regularly used for long distance communications. These antennas need a very solid mounting point and an ARB bumper, etc, provide an excellent solid point. Due to the length and rigidity of the antenna, roof mounts are inconvenient and prone to failure.