Disco SD pre-purchase checklist?

haven

Expedition Leader
I have a lead on a 1996 Disco SD (thanks, Zooropa!).
Here are the details http://expeditionportal.com/forum/showthread.php?p=377997

I have no experience with Land Rovers, and I'd appreciate hearing
some advice about what to look for during a pre-purchase inspection.
(Yes, I have read the post that says to have $4000 in the bank for repairs!)
Help me avoid the common problem areas for this model.

Many thanks!
Chip Haven

Green96D1

Explorer
I live in the Hayward, Fremont area

I know where that Discovery is!

things to look for in a land rover

check for leaks:coffeedrink:
and ask for records I repeat "RECORDS"

:victory:

I have a 96 and I didn't need 4000$ for repairs it's all in how the truck is cared for and maintained

sinuhexavier

Explorer
Super clean truck, nice...

One thing I always tell someone checking out a LR for the first time is check the connection of the steering shaft to the steering box. The steering shaft is aluminum and the box is steel, this combo causes the teeth on the aluminum to wear down and create slippage. Ask me how I know :Wow1:

It's mostly like any other truck but with more leaks... Although at 35k you may luck out.

my absolute pleasure Chip!

I hope she is everything and more

Things I'd look for -

the Buick V8 tends to shell valves @ 60K or so

if the swivel balls need replacement don't fret you can find slightly used ones on the cheap and they last

check the rear window rubber seal, these can leak a rusty watery substance that isn't so pleasant - you might find remnants

make sure all updates have been done, the cruise control had a factory issue and needed replacement

if you hit any bumps and the hazards go on and won't turn off merely stop the vehicle and pull the fuse ( easy to find under the hood ) start the car up and put the same fuse back in and problem solved

check to make sure the transfer caser is smooth when engaging low range or CDL