Electrical voltages and engine types.

DAN87N

Hello, I have a question regarding the 4x4 canter range from 1998-2006 in regard to the engines fitted and electrical operating voltages also. As far as I can see there are 24 and 12 volt models. I'm also interested to know how people have managed the issues of running 24 volts but using 12 volt gear still. I'd also like to know of any potential issues with any of the motors that anyone is aware of. I know about things like transfer shift cables etc from lots of reading on this forum but can't seem to find the info I require how ever I get the idea they are quite bulletproof. I am planning on purchasing a crew cab and doing a slide on camper mod in the next 12 months as a step up from my td42 patrol and camper trailer but would like to carefully select the vehicle taking all pros and cons of each into account. In case it is different in overseas markets I am located in Australia, I am a trade qualified mechanic however it it difficult to find detailed information of the nature I require on the web. Any comments or help would be greatly appreciated.

gait

Explorer
comment from wrecker while I was trying to find a replacement heater (blower) fan for 2005 FG649E ... "good point, I was forgetting that from 11/02 onwards they were 12v".

Not really relevant to question but I found a fan from a Lancer CE that fitted with minor modification to screw holes and windscreen washer reservoir at $20 vs the $200 asked for used truck part.

DAN87N

Ok that helps a bit as I'd prefer to go 12 volt. As for you saying that isn't really relevant to the question no maybe not exactly however I leaned something new so I would call it a win. It's amazing the difference between genuine and non genuine parts and sometimes cross referencing part numbers between different makes and models can do for price.. Sometimes not the way you would expect it to go.

Joe917

Explorer