Emergency Com's on HAM Frequency Selection

madmax718

Explorer
Im new to the whole Ham radio thing- so any guidance would be appreciated.

I am trying to figure out, which frequency would someone be most likely to listen to. While I know there are repeaters, it doesn't help someone who is stranded in an area they are not familiar with.

Similar to CB radios channel 9 and 19- Is there a 2m and 70cm equivalent? I see 466.000 as one, and 146.520 as the national simplex frequency. Seems there is no law, only suggested.

SARguru

Observer
My understanding as that those two frequencies are national simplex calling freq and serve that purpose. Of note its 446 not 466.

Personally my mobile set up is of 2 ft7800, when i am driving around one is set on my favorite local wide-area repeater the orher radio scans a few favs that i have set up in a scan bank, which include the 2 ham calling freq. So i silently monitor them regularly. Similarly when hiking i carry my search and rescue chest pack which has 2 vx6, on a mission one will be set to command net and one to tactical net, while hiking i usually put one on a repeater and the other on one of the simplex freq.

Im considering mounting an old unit in the trunk or some other option to permit doing cross-band, so that on a hike i could reach a little further.

Nic
ve3rsq

crawler#976

Expedition Leader
Last edited:

Expedition Leader
If you're in range of a repeater, you're much more likely to find somebody listening when you call. Otherwise, the Wilderness Protocol is for all operators to monitor the national simplex frequency 146.520 MHz (or 446.0, 223.5, etc.) every hour on the hour, specifically for emergency traffic. I do that when I'm out in the boonies; can't speak for anyone else.

http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~davide/wilderness_protocol.html

madmax718

Explorer