First Purchase?

turnerc7

Hey Land Cruiser Community,

I have recently realized that I need a larger vehicle for my day to day work and occasional adventuring. I have looked around at the various brands and what they offer and Im pretty sure that I have settled upon a Land Cruiser. Furthermore I have focused my efforts on 80s and 100s. As I have no experience with Land Cruisers Im turning to you to see what to look for.

a few questions I have:
80 vs 100, which is "better" in your opinion?
What to look out for, maintenance, rust, repairs, etc.
mileage, how high is too high and how far will they go?
Reliability, I read that they are the best overlanding vehicle available in the states, true?
anything else you deem useful or important about these rigs.

thanks in advance!

cheers,
Craig

p nut

butter
For what you're doing, the 100, no question. More power, more comfortable, better riding, same or better MPG, and just as reliable (if not more, due to age).

86tuning

Adventurer
You'd only want an 80 if you MUST have a solid front axle (for rock crawling or other heavy duty usage offroad). The 100 is much better on the road, for towing, power, fuel economy, everything else. Except perhaps initial purchase price.

That said, I drive a 97 LX450 because I like it. But I did indeed get it for a really good price.

Chuy