FJ Truck-camper-like Idea...

Alphamacaroon

Wanted to share an idea I've been throwing around for a few months and see what you all think.

Why?
Probably the first question that comes to mind is, why? There are plenty of great camping solutions out there— trailers, roof tents, sleeping platforms, etc.— why would you build something entirely new? Here are the issues I have with those solutions individually:

Trunk sleeping platform
This is generally my go-to when I camp in my FJ, but honestly I'm just tired of not having enough room. I'm a big guy, 6'2", and it's always just uncomfortable. Plus it's a pain in the ass to get in and out (unless I modify my tailgate), and difficult to ventilate and keep warm at the same time. I've done it enough to know it works, but it's just not an enjoyable night of sleep.

Roof tent
I just really have a hard time accepting anything that uses fabric to protect from the elements. I know the materials these days are pretty amazing, but I want something I can keep insulated in extremely warm and cold temperatures, and I just never want to worry about rips, tears and leaking. I want something that is going to hold up in extreme weather. Plus I don't like the idea of climbing up and down a rickety ladder at night to pee.

Trailer
The majority of my off-roading exploration is often on very primitive logging roads that sometimes dead-end without any notice, and turning around with a trailer is not going to happen without a lot of time and cussing.

Buy a truck and real camper shell
I love my FJ and will never get rid of it! But besides that, I like the idea of maintaining the ability to safely carry 5 people in the vehicle for everyday use, without the extended wheelbase of a crew-cab truck.

So given all the issues I have with the various options out there, I thought I might try to design something that would work for me.

Design Constraints
Here are the overall design constraints I kept in mind: