Fridges

jeepmedic46

Expedition Leader
Any suggestions on types of fridges to get. Saw a Coleman fridge and was wondering if that was a good one or to get like a ARB fridge?:smiley_drive:

Skratch

I'm by no means an expert or even very knowledgeable about fridges in vehicles other than my own experience.
And I have the Coleman right now in my rig, it works ok . . . not very cold . . . at least not cold enough to keep perishable items for more than a day or two at most and even then it has to run full time. If the vehicle is "warm" inside then the coleman becomes even less effective.
It works in my particular application because the A/C is seldom ever off and my rig virtually never shuts down while I'm out . . . or the genset is running and cooling the interior.
I would never buy a Coleman again unless it was simply for keeping a few drinks "cool" on a family outing, it is not deserving of the name "fridge"

My plans are to get an Engel MT60, simply because I have the room and can use the freezer portion quite frequently.

vhram

Observer
Ive got the engel mt45 the older style and it works great I put 2 cases of modelo and 1/2 dozen sodas and guessed on temp setting . Needless to say I managed to pop every single bottle and can , Talk about a mess. Now I look where I set the temp settings.

Superu

Explorer
I have an Engel MT45 and have been very pleased with it. Reliable, well-built and rugged. Worth the money IMHO. :ylsmoke:

esh

Explorer
Compressor driven will be less limiting vs ambient temps. If you can get over the hype of the new ARBs, look at Waeco/Dometic that have been around for much longer and have proven the design (that ARB now uses). Consider ~$200 cheaper for the unit and ~$100 cheaper for the transit bag.

Mike S

Sponsor - AutoHomeUSA
I like my Engel 45. And I was impressed with the HD National Luna model that Paul showed me at OEXPO last month. Not cheap, but quality never is.

M

grahamfitter

Expedition Leader