Gen 3 Introduction

Bueller?

This is my first real post (officially it was on the Trasharoo group buy). I felt inspired to introduce myself and my recently purchased 2006 Montero. I stumbled across this site when doing research about Monteros, as I have never owned one or really ever noticed them before recently. The knowledge base and general enthusiasm of the Mitsu crowd here definitely helped in my decision making, so thanks.

I picked up the Gen 3 last month and have some ideas based on other owners that are active on this site, but to be completely honest, I have little knowledge and few DIY skills. So, my build will be much slower than most. I have mainly owned full size pickups, with the exception of a P38 Range Rover.

The primary purpose of this vehicle is to be my DD and to get to hunting and kayaking spots. Along with Mrs. Bueller?, I also hope to introduce my 2 year old son to nature through camping and general exploration.

Looking forward to following others progress and learning from previous builds.

Planned Mods:
Remove Running Boards
OME Suspension Lift
ARB Bumper
A/T Tires
Sliders
Yakima Railgrab

Debating Mods:
Remove Body Cladding
Winch
Black Steelies (like the FJCs)

The stock Montero in its new home
photo.jpg

Last edited:

jeep-N-montero

Expedition Leader
Keep the cladding, it will protect the paint a lot. As for a winch, if you plan to go alone a lot then they are worth the money, but if always in a group then not as crucial.

Bueller?

Keep the cladding, it will protect the paint a lot. As for a winch, if you plan to go alone a lot then they are worth the money, but if always in a group then not as crucial.

Thanks for the advice. I will most likely be alone, but hoping to find some others in the Southeast that are willing to let a newbie tag along.

Sabre

Overlanding Nurse