Gen. I plans...

High Center

Adventurer
First post to this great forum.

Alright...so I have waded through all of the information and have decided that a Generation 1 Montero is the right starting point for my purposes. I would appreciate any of your wisdom as it concerns things to look for when "interviewing" a truck.

I'm a reasonably informed shadetree mechanic (read that: by neccesity) so I have the typical things covered: Service history, oil quality, general maint., rust etc. I am looking for specifics per model year- weak points, signs of impending doom as well as desirable options.

Thanks for the help-
HC :campfire:

bearingman

First post to this great forum.

Alright...so I have waded through all of the information and have decided that a Generation 1 Montero is the right starting point for my purposes. I would appreciate any of your wisdom as it concerns things to look for when "interviewing" a truck.

I'm a reasonably informed shadetree mechanic (read that: by neccesity) so I have the typical things covered: Service history, oil quality, general maint., rust etc. I am looking for specifics per model year- weak points, signs of impending doom as well as desirable options.

Thanks for the help-
HC :campfire:

HC where are you at? You found a Monty yet?

gary

off-roader

Expedition Leader
Are you looking at a 3.0L V-6 or 2.6L I-4 engined gen I?

3.0L:
- When was Timing Belt Done. Should be done every 60-90K miles along with the other belts, tensioner pulley, idler pulley, & Water pump.
- Does engine smoke when you rev it after does nothing but idles for 5 minutes? If so, you need to have the Valve Guide Seals replaced (not the valves).
- Where the tensioner and idler pulleys replaced during the last Timing Belt replacement? They should have been.
- Has the radiator been rodded or recored? Will need to be if not recently.