GPS for newbie?

TurboChris

Adventurer
Hoping you guys can give me some good recommendations for a GPS for a navigational beginner? I have NO experience with mapping or gps at all so the simpler the better for my first one for off highway use.

TIA

UNI

Adventurer
We use the Lowrance Endura™ Sierra, the portable unit has a bright screen for use in the bright sun light. The product has touch screen technology, a lot easier than going through screen menus. Its a bit expensive, but worth the cost IMO.

CIMG3457.JPG

CIMG3455.JPG

Frank

Explorer
I second the NUVI 550. I did some research (on here) and the 550 seemed to fit me perfectly. I (and family) have had a Garmin for the past 8ish years, and I have no reason to go to any other brand. They are great.

The ONLY thing (and its my own fault) I was bummed about when mine came in. I thought the TOPO was already loaded into the GPS. ...not so. Its another $100 off the garmin website. Im going to bass pro shop this weekend, hoping they have one on the shelf I can grab.

I question its "waterproof" capabilities. With its speaker, I question how waterproof it really is. I wont submerge it, but it may get rained on...I hope it stands up.

Also, I purchased my GPS on ebay fo $200, as a refurbished unit. -the refurb's come with the same warranty that a new 550 comes with.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...15&viewitem=&sspagename=ADME:L:OU:MOTORS:1123

If you are a beginner gps person, hopefully this says something: I plan to buy my dad a 550 for Christmas. He has -0- electronic skill.

One more thing I noticed, there is no "manual" per sa...just a quick start guide. Its pretty self explanitory to navigate it, but dont expect to see a manual to tell you how.

off-roader

Expedition Leader
Hoping you guys can give me some good recommendations for a GPS for a navigational beginner? I have NO experience with mapping or gps at all so the simpler the better for my first one for off highway use.

TIA