Help me potentially pick out a 4Runner

DanF.

Adventurer
Hi guys. I'm heading up from Galveston to Houston to look at this 1993 5sp. 4Runner, and would appreciate any input you have have on it. I'm a Toyota newbie, and am not sure where to start with questions for the seller beyond the obvious tire-kicking stuff.

https://houston.craigslist.org/cto/5599397867.html

I've messaged back and forth with the owner today, and he says that it's in very good shape for it's age, and he's replacing one C/V joint tonight. Claims timing chain was done at 120,000 miles by previous owner, but doesn't have paperwork on it.

He's selling because he's moving and can't take multiple projects with him.

I asked about the condition of the 5sp gearbox and transfer case. Sellers says it's 100% functional and smooth-shifting.

There is a "small" oil leak on the driver's side valve cover, but should be easy to DIY. (I'm a fairly competent DIY wrench-turner... have to be with all the Saabs I've owned.)

Is the price he's asking too high for the year and milage? KBB says it should be lower, but KBB isn't always the best indicator of actual market value.

Owyhee H

Adventurer
The price is not too outrageous given the mileage and condition. These have a reputation for blowing head gaskets, toyota replaced many, but not all have the issue. These engines are not known for their power or fuel mileage. The R150F Transmission should be solid and it should have the chain drive t-case which is pretty solid.

I wonder why the relay and fuse cover is off in the pic?

Take a look, you could do a lot worse. Try to get him down to or below $3k to allow for some of the immediate repairs which all new/used cars have.

borison

Adventurer
Looks like a good truck, I've always liked that body style. Drove a few and I remember the 3.0 was a dog. In the PNW I would think that would go for quite a bit more. Seems like it could be a winner.

mattafact

Adventurer