How important is a relay for LED light bar?

CrazyDrei

Space Monkey
I can not seem to find this answer anywhere, but exactly what does the a relay do in a light bar wiring harness?

I have been running a 36" light bar on my truck for 5 years with no problems. It is wired: battery + to inline fuse to light switch on dash to light bar positive cable, negatives are directly grounded to frame. My switch is rated to 40amps. I have been using the light bar for 200-300hrs a year for last years with no problems.

All new light bar wiring harnesses come with a relay, WHY?

Please educate me or point me in the eight direction.

D

Deleted member 9101

Don't know...but I'd probably ask the manufacturer before I asked strangers....lol.

Also, not everyone uses a switch when the wire in a light bar. Mine uses a relay, triggered by my highbeams.

Chorky

Observer
Probably mostly depends on how you want it wired, and the amp draw. Like already said if you want it wired into your high beams. Back in the day most halogen lamps (pair) could pull 20 amps easy, for less than half the quality of light of a modern led. But a pair of XL80's from Baha pull 11a. Still more than I personally would want going through a switch... I think most standard switches folks use are rated at 20 a. But that is highly variable. When in doubt, be more cautious. An electrical fire is no fun and an easy way to burn down an expensive vehicle.

A relay is simply a switch controlled by a switch. Sounds redundant, but the purpose is to isolate the high current under the hood and limit it to as short a wiring run as possible. That way you have less voltage drop, and less risk of the wiring or switch overheating.

True, LEDs require less current than conventional bulbs, but for an entire light bar, I would use a relay. From what I've seen, commercially available LED auxiliary light kits generally include relays, so apparently they agree.

Betarocker

Adventurer