I think I decided on a DSLR...advice?

ChuckB

Expedition Leader
Well, after reading a ton of reviews based on recommendations from this website and following links to other reviews, I believe I found the DSLR that I want.

First a little background on me... I have virtually no photographic experience other than point & shoot. I have been inspired by the plethora of amazing pictures on this website and would like to start a new hobby. I have no brand loyalty to either Canon or Nikon. After reading many posts here, I think the best route for me to follow is the "buy a cheap body and spend money on the glass" philosophy that many people preach on EXPO. This will allow me to get my feet wet without spending too much $$$$.

To that end, my first choice right now is the Nikon D80. So far I have found it for sale with an 18-135mm lens and a 1GB SD card for $1299.

Am I on the right track here???:088:

bigreen505

Expedition Leader
I have no experience with the lower end Nikon's so I speak only in generalities.

Card first. You need more than one. If you think 1GB is enough then buy two 512 cards. But if one starts acting up, you want a second. www.mydigitaldiscount.com has some good deals on cards.

If you need a camera now, the D80 is probably a nice place to start. If you are starting from scratch and willing to take the road less traveled, I would give the new Pentax cameras a hard look. Pentax has worked very hard on them and they seem to be well thoughtout. Also, Pentax makes excellent lenses overall.

If you go with the Nikon, I personally would want a nicer lens than the 18-135. It will get the job done and will cover most of your needs, but there is definitely nicer glass available. Look used.

rgsiii

Observer
I have a pretty large Canon digital SLR selection and Canon lenses with focal lengths from 17 to 600mm.