isuzu FTS 700 camper

sloth142

Observer
gday all,

ive just got my self a "89" model isuzsu fts 700 dual cab and plan on turning it into a camper/tourer. im new to the whole camping truck game so am looking for any info/help from those with more experiance in this.
i chose to go with this truck as 1- it was a good price and low km's, 2- more room for the family ( 2 adults and 3 kids),3- the camper trailer just wasnt big enough anymore, and 4- very capable truck that can handle the offroad well.
i plan on turning it into more of a camper and not a glamper.so far my plan is to put a solid roof over the tray and have an apolsterer modify the current canopy with some mozzy mesh, and modify one of the side drop down gates into stairs for access with a full size rear tail gate so when we are parked up we can lower it for added space/sun deck kind of thing.i plan on doing all the cooking outside as well but havnt come up with any ideas on how im going to set this up. (currently set up BBQ for cooking). as this is a 12.5 t GVM im never going to have anything near that loaded up and as you can imagine the ride is some where near the rough side. im strugling to find anyone that can offer a softer ride/solution. ive also read some other threads regarding the tray on spring mounts to aleviate stress on the chassis/tray whilst flexing.pheeew so after that little introduction/spill has anyone done a similuar build or have any info/ideas to help a novice out??

cheers
CJ

Last edited:

SkiFreak

Crazy Person
Firstly, welcome. :)

Although most of the people here would have slightly smaller trucks than yours, many of the same build concepts can be used.
You might want to give the guys at All Terrain Warriors (ATW) a call (if you haven't already done that) and have a chat with them, as I know they have done numerous builds on similar sized vehicles. They may be able to offer you some suspension choices or advice.

sloth142

Observer
hmmmm not sure what happened with the pic