JK Axle *TUBE* Failures?

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader
I'm starting see some talk on some of the Jeep boards that the new JK's seem to have either a design flaw or manufacturing defect where the axle tube, not the shaft, shears right off. A somewhat brittle fracture.

Are you guys aware of this? Could be pretty bad news if you're far from home.

I was an engineer at Dana a few years ago, doing underhood plumbing for a small division of the company. We had a number of cases of really MMMMty tube coming out of the mills causing weird failures. It seemed to us like part of the problem was that during the "steel crisis" (100% fabricated because of US protectionist measures) the steel mills felt they could ship anything they wanted because we were lucky to get steel at all. Also partly because DCX's steel specifications we were using were somewhat lacking.

Anyway, I wonder if this is related, or a design issue. I've never before heard of an axle tube breaking, ever.

Making it worse is the fact that the Jeep dealer is denying the warranty claim.

SixLug

Explorer
I wonder if its caused by a lot of torque on the axle. I have heard a lot about Ford 8.8's (a common rear axle swap for Jeepers) axle tubes actually spinning in the differential if too much torque is applied to it. A lot of guys weld up trusses and call it a day. Maybe with power and numerical gearing increases, the JK axles should be trussed. Which axle is it? D44, D30 or what?

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader
I think it's a D44? This was on a newer Rubi. AFAIK, it was mostly stock. They are denying the claim because it happened off road, not because of mods. So much for "trail rated".

And he's not the only one apparently. I'm seeing this on JK-Forum, this case in particular in the Central Canada forum, but there are links to others.

I Leak Oil

Expedition Leader