LR3 Questions

KD702

I will admit I have no experience with Land Rovers, but I found a 2008 LR3 for sale that got me thinking. I have been looking for a decent vehicle for my son to drive as he is just turning 16. This thing is pretty clean, but has 180k on it. They are only asking $3500 for it. Am I right to think this could be an expensive venture just in repairs for one of these? Again.....I know nothing about these. If it was a 2008 Toyota I'd probably worry less about the cost of repairs, since I have more knowledge of them. The Land Rovers have always been intriguing to me. I am interested to hear people's thoughts on this.
KD

gabrielef

I would ask for maintenance history, pull a CarFax to see what history is there, and take it to a pre-buy inspection.

On the LR3 you want to see when the lower control arms were replaced (not expensive these days), when any of the suspension components have been replaced (air springs, compressor, valve blocks), and when the last time the water pump, thermostat housing, and which of the 8 cooling pipes have been replaced.

These are not hard items to do yourself if you don’t mind wrenching a bit, and that will keep the cost of ownership down.

Replaced all the fluids (differential, transfer case, transmission, and engine oil).

The valve covers can start seeping oil at high mileage.

Thankfully, most LR3 parts have decent aftermarket options and are less expensive. Even some OE parts have come down in price.

My ‘06 LR3 has 313K miles on it, and I just keep at it. I love my rig and will have it forever.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nwoods

Expedition Leader
So, two different issues, suitability for a 16 year old, and maintenance costs for a 180k mile LR3