Maximum sulphur content in diesel for Oz 4M50-3AT7 4.9 litre (when o/s)

Bandicoot

Adventurer
I'm trying to get a straight answer about how much sulphur in diesel the 4.9 litre Canter engine (Oz version 4M50-3AT7) can handle if it is taken o/s. I am confident it can handle 500 ppm S indefinately, but can it operate OK on more S than that (e.g. 5000 ppm S), and if so, for how many tankfuls?
If not, is there some sort of fuel additive that will allow operation with high sulphur?
What is the potential impact on the engine with high sulphur? Is it just that the cat converter will stop working properly (can live with that) or can there be damage to the engine itself?
Bandicoot

rblackwell

Adventurer
I am not a diesel expert but have some experience with high sulphur fuels and modern diesels.
We drove our 2008 Chevy duramax in central and south america for over a year totaling up 60,000 miles
The vehicle was built as a ULSD vehicle complete with catalytic converter and DPF.
In prep for the trip we removed the DPF (this required the use of an after market performance programmer to
change the ECM program so that the computer did not perform the DPF regeneration cycle).
We left the CAT in place.
We had no problems - put all the stock stuff back before re-entering the US.
If you don't have a DPF on your truck I would assume - no problem
The diesel in central/south america varies. In Argentina we could buy some Euro diesel
In Honduras 5000 ppm
What year model is you Canter?
There are diesel small Mitsubishi trucks all over central/south america
Rob
www.whiteacorn.com

Is it just that the cat converter will stop working properly (can live with that) or can there be damage to the engine itself?
Bandicoot

I see this question very frequently. The only engine issue is that high TBN oil will need to be used and or more frequent oil changes will be needed.