military conversion

jacksonbase

After several years of looking I still can't find the offroad camper i want. I have decided to build one from scratch. Obviously this will take a long time and busted knuckles.

Question has anyone converted any of the newer military vehicles to campers? For a while I saw stripped down new vehicles running down the road stacked 3 deep ready for retrofitting. I don't know if these cab forward models are available for private use but as the "war" overseas wains maybe they could be picked up aftermarket. I've seen several deuce 1/2 converted but i would like to start with something a little more refined. I've seen all the cool stuff from americat out of europe but the price to get one in the states is high . Any pics or thoughts would be appreciated. I'm just getting started and want to get a chassis first and retrofit from there.

thanks

Jacksonbase

Avi Meyers (Unicat Americas) tried getting a 5 ton MTV chassis to put a Unicat camper on new from the mfg. They initially were receptive but then became obstructive "our insurance....".
It's questionable whether these are licensable since I believe the military has obtained waivers on EPA specs for sure and maybe DOT as well, as these have tightened up over the last decade.
So as a US citizen/resident you are quite limited in medium/heavy duty choices.
Int'l 7300/7400 or a conversion done by Tulsa Truck Mfg. is about it
You can thank the idiotic "chicken tax" for that, if you are old enough to remember.

Charlie

02TahoeMD

Explorer
Ever considered getting a HUMVEE Ambo truck? I have seen them posted available for sale used here stateside. The Ambo box would give you a decent amount of room in a compact package. And it should be lots easier to get registered for road use than some of the giant stuff the military uses.