Modify pop up camper?

eaneumann

Adventurer
I just bought a Tundra Crewmax with the 5.5' bed on it. Was planning to either put a rooftop tent or camper shell on it. Same day a friend of mine offered me a slide in pop up camper for free. The camper is for a 8 foot bed with a really slim section that goes over the cab with the bed in that section. Is it worth shortening this to fit in my truck? It's only my wife and I so space inside isn't really an issue. I have a lot of tools and fabrication experience, I'm an auto body technician for work. I'm sure it can be done, but I've never owned or messed with a camper. Thoughts?ImageUploadedByTapatalk1418671679.784823.jpg

Thanks!

Eric

subterran

Adventurer
Hello!
Free is a heck of a deal! I am a camper optimist, and will always mod something if possible, but I'm afraid there might be too many worms in that can. If it's a fourwheel brand camper, you might consider just selling it and buying something with a better fit. If it's wooden, it might be a little easier to shorten, but you're still going to have to deal with the canvas part.
To sum it up: if it's a fourwheel brand, it's probably worth too much to risk ruining. If it's wood, the value is less, so if you make a mess then it will hurt less. Good luck, and if you do go ahead with it please document it here. There are many who would benefit from seeing it done.

calicamper

Expedition Leader
I met a guy that sorta did that - my only thought is TIME.. He was a little unhappy about the amount of time he had invested in the camper and still having an old and odd duck camper after he was done. He said he would have been more happy out camping vs at home rebuilding the old camper. Just one thing to consider also. Yes do some research to find out what camper you have it may be far too valued to chop up which case you might do better selling and tracking down a camper that fits your rig ready to go.

eaneumann

Adventurer