Montero help for a newbie!!

monkey620

Hello All,

So I am new to the Monty world, but excited to have entered into it with a 1998 gen 2.5 (from what I've read). It has the 3.5L V6 and found one with the "cold weather package" that has the factory locker. So I'm excited to have a nice start, but would love to get some input from those more experienced than I. I got this one at a decent price and am looking forward to starting in on a budget build aimed at some camping and overland type adventures as well as a daily driver when needed. So here are my questions based on my observations so far:

1. I suspect quite a bit of oil burning. I can smell it when I get out after parking and my wife mentioned some blue smoke when she followed me home. It has 160K and I know these motors are pretty notorious for burning oil as they age. What should/can I do about this? Or what's the best short term treatment and then long term fix?

2. It drives own the road decent, but it is pretty squishy and bumps are pretty stiff as well as some slight vibration/wiggle at freeway speeds. Just wondered what my most likely culprits are? I am assuming it needs new shocks, but am sure that's not it. Maybe ball joints? torsion bars? springs? not sure what else???

3. What the easiest most cost effective way to get a couple inches of lift? I know I can crank on the torsion bars a little but I think that will only level it out at this point. I'd like to put 33's on it I think. I've read OME springs and torsion in the front but am not sure where to get OME stuff these days. I've also heard I could just use spring spacers in the back and torsion on the front

4. When/if I do lift it a couple inches, will I need to lengthen brake lines on do something about drive shaft angles or bump stops etc.?