Moonroof Woes…or are they Sunroof Woes

Worshington

Observer
Hey Gang,

I have a 2002 Montero that I bought last spring. I bought it with 136,000 miles on it, and besides a leaky cam seal, this thing runs like a top. My wife and I just completed an 11 day road trip through Oregon without a single issue.

Today, during a little trip to the local Frederick Meyer, however, my wife opened the sunroof for our dog. When she came out of the store and wanted to close the sunroof the only feedback she got from the Monty happened to be a grinding noise from that little motor underneath the headliner. She decided that the sunroof must be "off its track" and opened it further. The sunroof opened further without hassle, and is now stuck in the fully open position as it would not close after that. We still get the grinding sound from the motor.

I was wondering if this was a common issue that maybe some of you have had to deal with before. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm capable, and would like to try and fix it before we take it in and spend mucho queso. The liner pulls down easy enough, and it seems like I could remove the motor and tinker with it fairly easily. Has anyone had to do this?

Any tips, or information from shared experiences would be extremely helpful.

Cheers,

Jason

MonteroLTD

Adventurer
This is very common. The bolts back off and fall out. Pull down the headliner and put them back in with some loctite.

Worshington

Observer
MonteroLTD,

Thanks for the quick reply! I went out and pulled down the headliner and took a closer look this time and guess what? There was a bolt lying there! I am going to assume that the bolt is the culprit for now, and pick up some loctite on the way home from work tomorrow. Thanks for the tip.

Cheers,

Jason

MonteroLTD

Adventurer
Just make sure that you open the sunroof all the way manually. Then open hit the open switch to set the motor properly.

Worshington

Observer
Soooo…