My M416

kai38

Explorer
I've been towing this M416 for ten years. First behind a '84 FJ60,'95 FZJ80 a '06 4 dr Tacoma, & now a '07 FJ Cruiser. Its been a great gadget to have, When I bought it ($375.00) it was desert camo, I tried to sand blast it, it didn't do any thing to it. I bought some of the best chemical paint stripper I could buy and it still didn't do a thing to remove the paint. I took a cheap grinder to it and I'm sure I inhaled too much of the chemical resistant paint, so I just did an urban camo paint job on it. Easy to touch up just get the rattle cans out and paint.
It has a RTT mounted on it, tailgate cut into it. Did a spring over one day when I was bored. This week I finally got around to mounting ammo cans on the side.
Here are a few pictures:
Outside Jackson WY. during a 2 week road trip.
0d519bab169563a09269fbc405f2c1f3.jpg

After the spring over comparing height to FZJ80 Land Cruiser
ae8a17e8533157dc7908d771d3955740.jpg

After spring over
9fa940f7d995b440f3d5ff443fb6d819.jpg

4th of July 2003
aba1ae4b7e286e8d5cb7e710b8c7f544.jpg

Before the spring over I expermentated by placing coil springs between frame & leaf springs.
9b0d76af5cee5239fee5a8a8de49c1da.jpg

New storage boxes added this week
fb1ceaca74c9f75feda3fa4f5e35cabf.jpg

Swing down bracket
ed19e29a4f434f46cd7e4d26f642160d.jpg

Camping at City of Rocks NM
da2c8710a593ee24540ab2a579929cdc.jpg

Spring over pt 1 http://www.pbase.com/kai38/spring_over_m416_trailer
pt 2 http://www.pbase.com/kai38/spring_over_part_2&page=all

socaljeeper

Adventurer
How well did the suspension do with the coil springs before the spring over? Did you notice a big difference? Nice trailer!

kai38

Explorer
How well did the suspension do with the coil springs before the spring over? Did you notice a big difference? Nice trailer!

Its been 4 yrs since I had those springs underneath. They helped with the load in the trailer, really didn't see much change off road or towing down the road.