New military surplass Pelican-Hardigg cases

mandm1516

Cruising around www.govliquidations.com I found these boxes and would like some opinions about them, and if they're awesome tip you off if you're looking for some (hopefully we won't end up bidding against each other). I'm new to the expedition world and still trying to figure everything out so would appreciate any opinions.

They're beefy, have a lock, and look like they're waterproof, sold in lots of 3. Starting bid is $150 for all 3, auction ends today and there are a bunch of them without bids so far.

The description says: 3 ea, Survival Kit Container, Length: 19 in., Width: 19 in., Depth: 17.3 in., Empty Weight of 21 lbs, Air/Water Tight Unknown, Appears New.

Here's a couple pics:
govbox1.jpg
govbox.jpg

Mike Hawkins

Eventhough

Explorer
Those look pretty beefy - maybe too beefy. At 21 lbs each they could get real heavy real quick when you load 'em full of gear.

ktrout01

Pelican cases are great rugged cases. I have several that I use. I had two on a receiver hitch rack coast to coast and not a drop of water or bit of road grime got inside. Three of the 1650 cases fit on my roof rack perfectly. I just need to be aware how much weight I put in them.

The military uses them for their strength and doesn't really care how much they weigh. There's also quite a bit of wasted space due to the reinforcement ribbing and hardware. I love them but they have their limitations.

If you are going to buy them, used is the only way to go. New case prices are way too much. Also Pelican will gladly send you repair parts for latches, wheels, handles if not for free then very cheaply.

Ryan_S

Observer
How do those auctions work? It seems that everything on there is listed at $150, is there a minimum or reserve somewhere?

Those cases have an actual value estimated at $1,306.62 :Wow1:

susswein

Observer
More of them on auction now in various sizes - anyone interested in a group buy?