New Tacoma owner! with a few questions.....

So, I'm a recent convert from the land of Jeeps.....I had (still have) a 98 XJ mildly built.
And I'm really stoked about my new Tacoma! It's an 03 crew cab, 4x4, 3.4, TRD. I'm excited to have a bit more room than I had in my Cherokee, as much as I liked it.

So here's a few of my questions:
-The truck has a 3" Fabtech lift on it, though I think the front shocks have been replaced, possibly with a TRD shock? Does that sound right? Any thoughts/opinions/concerns with the Fabtech lift?
-What are some of the first mods I should be considering as I get started on this? I have done some reading on the deckplate mod, the gray wire mod, etc, but other input would be greatly appreciated.
-I really liked the option on my Jeep to have the front sway bar disconnects to allow the front axle the ability to move independant of the body. Since I'm new to this CV axle business, A) is this even something that needs to be considered on a Taco? B) who makes stuff like that and what retailers have a wide variety of aftermarket products for Toyotas?

It's a bit weird to be asking these questions, as I know all of the answers to them for Jeeps, but not for Toyotas..... Thanks in advance for your help guys, I'm excited to be here!:wings:

toy_tek

Adventurer
Congrats on your new Toyota.

I don't know anything about Fabtech, can't help you there. But, information about what you plan to do with your vehicle will help the forum help you with recommendations and suggestions.

As a 3.4 Toyota owner, I can tell you, however, don't bother with the deckplate mod. Do a search here for the thread that has to do with "mods you wouldn't do again" and it pretty much tops the list. I drank the cool aid once, and ended up just leaving the plate in 100% of the time. I ended up replacing the airbox afterward anyway. Grey wire seems to be a legitimate advantage though.