New to the LR World

ADVNOMAD

My wife and I are looking for our next adventure rig. We have had many Jeeps in lots of forms over the years. Maybe looking in a different direction this time(comfort). Went to Autotrader and for the heck of it typed in Land Rover. Interesting that I found a lot of 98-04 DII's with some very modest prices compared to other daily driver slash weekend overland platforms. They almost seem affordable or in our price range anyway. Most of the lower price range ads show less than 150K mileage too.

Why is that?

I'm not an ace mechanic but I haven't shied away from a complete 98 XJ Cherokee full on OME build either.

David Harris

Expedition Leader
The Discovery II's have a reputation for poor reliability, especially the engines, which are known to have slipped liner issues from 99-04, and the electronics (traction control, abs, etc.). So the prices are low. In reality, some vehicles are good, while others are lemons, depending on service history and shear luck on the day it was built. If you want one of these buy low and spend the rest on maintenance to bring it up to par. Being a mechanic or willing to become one is essential in owning most LR's unless you have a lot of money to have someone else fix it. This is the price for owning the best 4x4 in the world.

BTW: The earlier Discovery's (94-99.5) and the RRC are simpler and more reliable than the Discovery II's. Also definitely take a look at the newer LR3/4's. Prices are coming down, and while they are much more electronic dependent, they have pretty good reliability records.

ADVNOMAD

Thanks for the heads up on the early Discovery info. What are the options and cost range of a high mileage engine rebuild? Seems like that would be my major concern.

David Harris

Expedition Leader
Thanks for the heads up on the early Discovery info. What are the options and cost range of a high mileage engine rebuild? Seems like that would be my major concern.