Newbie here looking to buy a Travelall.

wesfab1

Goin' Commando
Hello all, I really hate doing these new member introductions, here goes.
Im a life long off-road enthusiast and have been into Jeeps since before i could legally drive. I am also an avid camper, unfortunatly day to day life has kept me from having any real expeditions.

My current "adventure" vehicle is a '63 IH Scout 80 AWD. It is pretty much stock as Scout 80s came pretty capable from the factory. All i did to mine was ad a CB, fullsize aluminum roof rack, and 31x11.5 directional tires. I used it all of last summer as a fishing rig. The longest trip i went on with it was 200miles to the Moose River Plains in Inlet NY. Loaded with four large guys, gear, and two kayaks you could tell it was severely overloaded.

I am currently searching for an International Harvester Travelall 4x4 to revamp into an expedition rig. If anyone has seen one for sale on their local craigslist or auto trader please let me know.

Thank you

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
You're insane.

Just wanted to note that. :p

(But, as Malcolm Reynolds on "Firefly" said, "You're my kind of stupid." :D)

(Of course, with you driving a nearly 50 year old rig like the 80 with four adults inside it, I'm probably not telling you anything you didn't already know.)

Seriously, my very first two rigs were Travelalls, a 57 (first year of factory 4wd, I believe) and the other was a 67 I think (last year of the "rounded" body style. For a 17 year old kid (I got the 57 in 1979, it was 5 years older than me!) and then a 20 year old kid (got the 67 in '82) they were probably not the best choice, but they were unique, that's for sure!

Anyway, good luck on the quest. You can find a lot of rust-free vehicles in the Rocky Mountains and Southwest Deserts. Anything on your side of the Mississippi is probably going to be either expensive (because it was restored) or rusted all to hell.

wesfab1

Goin' Commando
copy that,