Next vehicle - lessons learned - help me get it right next time?

Ultralite

Adventurer
I'm a long term planner and like to review lessons learned. I'm planning my next purchase but still relatively new to backcountry exploration.

Here's the background:

I have a '69 VW Westy that I have taken off-road through door deep mud. Awesome time but it's not the right tool for the job. And getting to and from the trail is too hot in the summer time South (for me anyway).

I also have an '01 Suburban that I have taken off road. I LOVE driving this thing on the interstate though. It's a QUIET, leather comfort ride. But it's getting long in the tooth and I'm planning its replacement.

Though I've taken both off-road, I'm very new to the scene. So I don't know much about the other platforms out there.

Here's the criteria I'm trying to line up:
1. I'm willing to buy new though I prefer used. And budget is pretty flexible.
2. I would like a quiet ride on highways. We're in the Southeast and plan to take trips out west so reduced road noise helps to reduce long drive fatigue. So I can't imagine I would like to drive say a Wrangler that far.
3. I'm getting old and my desire for comfort has increased over time. Since I'd like to have the vehicle for a long time, I expect this trend to continue.
4. I would like a platform where I could sleep 2 adults comfortably and I'm willing to go for aftermarket sleep systems like the Ursa tops, etc.
5. While my wife and I are interested in off-roading and camping, we're not looking to do any technical rock climbing on purpose. I understand it may happen during exploration but I'm not drawn to that activity in general.
6. I'd like to be able to get the vehicle into urban parking garages. Vans, especially camping ones, seem to often push that limit.
7. Gas mileage isn't my biggest criteria but the high teens would be a good target.