north to alaska

jackotheroad

The urge to go north is un-bear-able... so I am getting outfitted and leaving in late May. I have a '98 disco 1 and hauling a 14' fiberglass 'burro' travel trailer, about 1500lbs.

how accessable are parts and mechanics with land rover know-how up north, through Canada and Alaska?

stevenmd

Expedition Leader
I have no knowledge or advice for you; however, I will be watching this thread and your travels closely. My plan is to do this trip in 2014 when my youngest is 5 years old and my oldest is 18. I'd do it sooner but for some reason my wife doesn't think it's fun to travel while chasing a toddler around.:snorkel:

michaels

Explorer
read the thread with the "must-have" spare parts for a discover on any long distance, or even just weekend wheeling, trip. if you're handy with a wrench, i don't think you'll encounter anything you can't handle.

A gentleman who goes by the name Alan Stuart has contributed some time ago on this site can answer your questions. Use the search. You may find his trip pictures on EEs website

http://www.expeditionexchange.com/northbyrover/

you will find many here who are sympathetic or eager to share their trips

:)

I recommend you look around for competitive prices on overlanding kits. There has been a large increase in gear options. If you've never received a copy of Overland Journal you might consider just looking at some of their sponsors - everything from custom made gas tanks and water tanks that fit any place you want to storage packs that rest behind your seat, tents, kitchen, plastic gas tanks in all kinds of shapes and forms, radios, tires, and a plethora of improvised ideas and inventions

You may also look at Rovers North and feel comfortable just calling them up and running ideas or you might ask them to meet or beat prices - they have more experience in over landing prep and land roves than anyone in North America - been around for decades and great chaps