PicsMobile - 4x4 MAN truck

Cedric Jacquet

Hello everyone,

Newbie here ... so I thought I might present my truck.

A number of years back, my wife and I decided we needed to build a new expedition vehicle (our old Land Rover Defender had done it's time). Our requirements were that it should be heavily photo-oriented (we're professional nature & wildlife photographers), it had to be a ‘real’ 4×4 with good off-road capabilities ; the vehicle needed to be sturdy and reliable, and roomy enough to accommodate for the heavy and bulky equipment (hides, floating blind, camo nets, tripods, drone, … + big lenses & co !), as well as comfortable. But we also wanted to be able to travel with the kids when possible.

Roof down :
camion.jpg

So we had to move away from the traditional 4x4 cars, into the realm of the all terrain trucks/lorries : with a well equipped truck, we can travel more independently (staying several weeks at a time without needing to head back to ‘civilization’), and stay in more difficult areas (heated living cell, shower, WC, kitchenette – and real comfortable beds !), with all our gear, and the kids when they can join. But while I wanted space inside, I also wanted the truck to be compact, in order to keep as much of it's off-road capabilities as possible. So we ended up with a MAN 15.290 4x4 truck, and a rear living cell with a roof that can be raised & lowered (shoe-box style, in order to ensure a great insulation even when the roof is up), with the 2 bedrooms upstairs.

Roof raised :
Blog-1204240002-l.jpg

If you are interested in the design/construction of the truck, please have a look at my blog :

http://blog.cedricjacquet.com/?p=81 : searching for a truck
http://blog.cedricjacquet.com/?p=144 : the chosen truck
http://blog.cedricjacquet.com/?p=191 : the rear cabin lay-out
http://blog.cedricjacquet.com/?p=234 : the shell building

Should you have any questions - please ask !

foxhunter

Adventurer