Pinzgauer 710M Conversion - Build thread

Hugues

Hi everyone,
I'm starting my build thread. I bought a Pinzgauer 710M and will be converting it into an expedition truck over the next 12 months.
I'm a Canadian engineer, living in Switzerland. This is my second conversion, first one was a Mercedes Sprinter 314 van.

Below is a rendering of the finished project.
If you are interested to see the Pinz up close, I add a link below with a short video on Youtube, without any comments.
Pinzgauer 710M v164.png

Last edited:

Hugues

Here I explain how I will build the box and "connect" it to the frame of the Pinzgauer.
I will be using PET foam panels with fiberglass sheets on both sides, manufactured by https://coratec.ch/en/applications/wohnkabinen-fuer-reisemobile
The 5 panels will be quite light, only 69 kgs (without L channels, glue, windows), they are strong enough, no need to build a supporting frame.
The rear panel will be fixed on a metal structure that I will attach to the rear of the frame, and will serve as an extension to provide a bit more volume.
I welcome your constructive feed-back.

Last edited:

simple

Adventurer
Looks like a good start.

You've got my curiosity regarding the EPDM joint to constrain the box in the vertical direction. Have you seen this application before? I wonder about the joint between the EPDM and Box. It appears that the area where it laps over the L channel will result in a sheer and a peel force on the bond between the EPDM and box. Bond strength is much lower in peel.

Also what do you think about the relatively small stress area at the start of the bond on the box? Will it cause a mechanical failure between the skin and foam core?

And last but not least what are you numbers for joint strength relative to forces generated in a collision?

Hugues

Looks like a good start.

You've got my curiosity regarding the EPDM joint to constrain the box in the vertical direction. ...