portable battery with usb, meter, and 12 volt cig plug.

weaselv12

I am just getting into over-landing a bit, my buddy and i are planning on a trip during this upcoming jeep safari in moab going down chickens corners and beyond. this will be our first real trip down a dirt road a day or two away from a city. i am looking at doing a budget setup for a 2nd battery for extra stuff like phones maybe a cheap air pump from walmart for airing up and other little things. i have a 2014 jeep Cherokee TH and i have previously set up a trailer battery to charge off of the trailer connector so i am thinking that i can make a cable to go from the trailer connector to inside the back of the cab to a battery with possibly something like Newport Vessels Trolling Motor Smart Battery Box Power Center Black ( https://www.amazon.com/Newport-Vess...wport+Vessels+Smart+Battery+Box+Power+Station )
I am looking
for advice on doing a set up like that, i am sure someone has a good set up for something like i want.

Happy Joe

Apprentice Geezer
I use a 35 amp hour AGM battery for camping; Harbor Freight usually has a 20% off coupon which drops the price of the battery into the 55 -60$ range. I also modified a small Harbor freight inverter to go with the battery giving me a USB charger along with 110 volts AC for the LED tent light(s)... I have been quite happy using these batteries although they are not quite powerful enough to run a 12 volt refrigerator well/more than overnight
DSCF0166.JPG.

Wire any plug you want to the battery... lots of examples of automotive sized batteries in battery boxes and tool boxes are on the internet... decided the box was to bulky so got rid of it and just Velcro-ed the modified inverter to the top of the battery.
Be aware that meters and gauges to register degree of charge typically work best after the battery has stabilized (sat un used/uncharged and undischarged) for 24 hours or so.