RAM vs. Ford SRW Chassis Cab for Flatbed Grandby?

Durango

Adventurer
OK, let's get this out right away. My wife says it is a sickness. I've got a great 4WD Ram 2500 crew cab with a 2015 FWC Hawk Flatbed that I've built out to perfection inside. We love it! Can I stop there? NO! (Sioux is right- I'm sick!)

So I've been reflecting on buying a regular cab (it is almost always just the two of us) Ford or Ram SRW Chassis Cab. Why on the Chassis Cab? They just make a flat bed build so much easier and allow a 34" wide X 6" high "shovel box" the full length of the bed. The standard gas tanks are much larger and the longer bed will easily fit a Grandby. (Or other FB camper.) Whether Ford or Ram I'll go with the gas engine. (Our 2012 Ram only has 20K one owner miles!)

Folks, I'm no mechanic. My cursory research leads me away from Chevy with the IFS and last time I drove their standard gasser it felt anemic. So I'm in-between the Ram 3500 or the F-350 single rear wheel chassis cab. I like that the Ford can be optioned with a locking differential but then I have to admit that our Ram with the limited-slip differential has never been stuck nor has had any problems yet. (Only 20K miles though!) :)

I'd appreciate any thoughts on the pros and cons of the Ram vs. Ford and thanks in advance!

Steve

PS Don't know why I can't enjoy this little sweetheart! (On edit: the truck/camper, not the wife of 41 years!)
Flaming Gorge.jpg

Last edited:

drewactual

Adventurer
there are issues with both chassis's... Dodge has a weakness that has cases of straight up breaking, and Ford has some sort of (theorized) harmonic vibration that causes a wheel hop at a certain speed range (that there is a cure for, involving a brace being bolted or welded in)... both work really well for most, though, but there is that to at least know going into the discussion.

js9234

Observer