Redarc BCDC Sizing

Snowhunter

Hello All

My Ram 1500 is a true dual purpose vehicle: Daily work truck 7 mths a year and my adventure vehicle weekends and winters. I'm just beginning to build it out after one year as a work truck. That year taught me some of my daily needs and I have some ideas on what I want/need for my adventure trips. Initially my adventures are limited to 2-3 day driving trips leading to fishing, camping, hiking and photography opportunities. Most of my adventures are currently limited to the Adirondacks and the northeast. I'm hoping for some longer trips into Canada and to explore winter/ice roads in Ontario, Quebec and more.

My current adventure needs are pretty simple: a refrigerator, an inverter for charging batteries, phones, laptops, etc. and an aux battery jump system just in case. My work needs are pretty similar with the biggest difference being that I rarely drive more than 30 to 40 minutes to a job (on-stie RV repair) and the warmth/heat of summer.

I have decided on Redarc components. Reasons include compact size, quality and reliability (I'm concerned about long trips into north Canada with no services or communication). I'll be rigging up a BCDCxxxx unit with a SBI12 isolator for jump starting duty. I'm looking at 1500w inverters and down the road I will be looking to add solar backup (not a priority as I expect the short, dark, cloudy, snowy days of winter to limit it's effectiveness). Initially I'll be running 3 50ah LifePO4 batteries in parallel (I've chosen this size because of where I can fit them under the seat back of the crew cab).