Remount camper

garybo

Adventurer
On this board, one will find different ways to mount a camper to a chassis. I'm not an expert on any of them and can't participate in the details of any mount. This thread is simply our journey to fix a problem. If you ask me any questions about anything other than what we've done, I won't be able to answer. Questions about breaking the frame are outside my expertise. Perhaps other discussions can simply reference this thread as one way to solve a specific problem.

We bought a well known 2003 Fuso camper a year ago. This thread is about our journey to remount the camper on the chassis. Mounting the camper to the chassis was originally accomplished with C channel steel and hard wood 4" square posts, secured with 8 U bolts. This is a direct fixed mount allowing no pivot. Over time the wood posts moved and partially collapsed, causing the camper to move forward and down, especially on the passenger side.

Our first stage to correct this problem was to return to the Unicell manufacturer in Toronto. They easily lifted the camper, squared it in all directions with the frame, and replaced the square wood posts with C channel steel and one 2x4 hard wood board. Thinking all was well we returned to Arizona.