Roof Top Tents 101. I'm a Noob.

collkid

So,

My wife and I recent bought a 2001 Toyota 4runner. 160k. 4x4. blah blah blah.

She is JUST getting interested in camping and decided she would feel safer in a RTT.

I've never had one of these, but used one while I was traveling in Australia.

I need basic info:
Can I use the stock racks that we have?
What kind of setup am I looking for?
Can we get something for under $1,000?
Can you give me some links/brands to look for?
Is it worth it to buy used?

Basically, we want something that will fit me (6'4) and my wife/dog and future child.

I know these are basic question, but help a brother out!

Mass_Mopar

Don't Litter
Can I use the stock racks that we have?
A small tent, possibly. Anything medium or large, probably not. Rain-gutter mounted aftermarket roof racks like Thule and Yakima are the way to go. Medium tent will need 2 bars, large tent will need 3. They are expensive new, but are usually available used on CL.

What kind of setup am I looking for?
Can we get something for under $1,000?
Can you give me some links/brands to look for?
Is it worth it to buy used?

Read up:
http://expeditionportal.com/buyers-guide-soft-shell-roof-top-tents/

Buying tips: Some vendors offer limited yearly group buys, with decent discounts or free shipping. If you're close to a distributor, drive there and pick it up to save yourself 100-300 on shipping. They might even help you install it.

Keep an eye on the for-sale sections of the forums and CL for used tents. Some people buy them, don't like them, and sell.

Basically, we want something that will fit me (6'4) and my wife/dog and future child.